Southern Scribe
          a culture of storytelling


  News - October, 2002  

Call for Papers | Contests | Old News  


Book News

The Louisiana Purchase Bicentennial in Arkansas

The journey of Lewis and Clark is familiar to most grade school students, but the southern expedition of William Dunbar and George Hunter is lesser known.  Dunbar and Hunter are remembered in "The Forgotten Expedition," an hour-long documentary film created by the Arkansas Educational Television Network and Ouachita Baptist University.

Dr. Terry Berry, associate professor of history and director of the Pete Parks Center for Regional Studies at Ouachita, became interested in the project 20 years ago when as an undergraduate of Ouachita, he learned of Dunbar and Hunter through lectures, but the history textbooks did not note these explorers.

The three-year film project premiered October 3rd, 2002 at Ouachita Baptist University.  "The Forgotten Expedition" will air on AETN October 10th, at the Hot Springs Documentary Film Festival on October 13th and October 19th, at the National Lewis and Clark Conference at Penn State in November, and will eventually be distributed to schools.

Dr. Terry Berry is editing the Dunbar Journals for publication by the Louisiana State University Press.

To learn of upcoming events to celebrate the Louisiana Purchase Bicentennial in Arkansas, visit

5th Annual Library of Virginia Literary Awards

Tom De Haven, Kent Newmyer and R. T. Smith are the winners of the 5th Annual Library of Virginia Literary Awards announced at a gala celebration on September 21, 2002, at the Library of Virginia.

Midlothian novelist Tom De Haven, a nationally recognized expert on the history of comics, is the fiction winner for Dungan Under Ground, which completes a raucous tour of America in the 20th century told through the world of comic strips and their creators.  Dugan Under Ground is a nostalgic look at the 1960s counterculture and the underground-comic scene.

R. Kent Newmyer, author of John Marshall and the Heroic Age of the Supreme Court, won the prize for best work of non-fiction.  Newmyer's comprehensive and insightful look at Chief Justice John Marshall sets the standard for judicial biography.  Newmyer is a professor of law and history at the University of Connecticut School of Law.

R. T. Smith, editor of Shenandoah: The Washington and Lee University Review, is this year's poetry winner for Messenger: Poems.  He is the author of 11 books of poems and Faith, a collection of short stories.  Messenger offers vivid and lyrical reflections about nature and personal memories and a desire to nurture an Irish heritage.

Mary Lee Settle, author off more than 20 books and winner of numerous honors including the National Book Award, is the first living Virginia author to receive the Library of Virginia's Lifetime Achievement Award.  One of the most respected Southern writers of our age Settle's body of work is compelling, meticulously researched and flawlessly written.  She ranks as Virginia's most distinguished historical novelist.

More than 100 books received nominations this year for the awards of which nine were selected as finalists.  Award categories were fiction, non-fiction and poetry.

The annual literary awards celebration is held the third Saturday in September.  Books eligible for the awards must have been written by a Virginia author or have a Virginia theme.  Entries for the 2003 literary awards must have been published between January 1 and December 31, 2002.  Entry forms can be found on the Library of Virginia's Web site at < >.

Southern Regional Council Announces 2002 Lillian Smith Book Award Winners

Four exceptional books have been selected to receive the 2002 Lillian Smith Book Awards.  Presented annually by the Southern Regional Council for 34 years, the Smith Awards recognize authors whose fiction and non-fiction writing extends the legacy of the outspoken writer, educator, and social critic who challenged her fellow Southerners and all Americans on issues of social and racial justice.  The Lillian Smith Book Awards are the South's oldest literary honor.


Bombingham by Anthony Grooms (Free Press)


Getting Right with God: Southern Baptists and Desegregation, 1945-1995 by Mark Newman (Univ. of Alabama Press)

Dying in the City of the Blues: Sickle Cell Anemia and the Politics of Race and Health by Keith Wailoo (University of North Carolina Press)

Special Award:

Remembering Jim Crow: African Americans Tell About Life in the Segregated South edited by William H. Chafe, Raymond Gavins, and Robert Korstad with Paul Ortiz, Robert Parrish, Jennifer Ritterhouse, Keisha Roberts, and Nicole Waligora-Davis (The New Press with Lyndhurst Books).

The 2002 Book Awards luncheon will be held October 18, 2002 in Atlanta.

Call for Papers
Women’s “Private” Writing and the American Civil War (Deadline: November 15, 2002)
"The Cultures of Mason & Dixon" (Deadline: December 1, 2002)
Flannery O'Connor and Humor (Deadline: December 15, 2002)
The Marjorie Kinnan Rawlings Journal of Florida Literature (Deadline: January 1, 2003)
Delta Blues Symposium IX (Deadline: January 6, 2003)
"Faulkner and the Ecology of the South" (Deadline: January 15, 2003)
William Faulkner Journal (Deadline: January 31, 2003)
Appalachian Writers Association Conference (Deadline: February 14, 2003)
Southern Writers Symposium (Deadline: March 15, 2003)
South Carolina Fiction Project (Deadline: January 15, 2003)
Appalachian Writers Association Contests (Deadline: June 1, 2003)
Fred Bonnie First Novel Contest 2003 (Deadline: June 15, 2003)
Tennessee Writers Alliance Contests (Deadline: July 1, 2003)

News from Past Issues
2002:  08 07 06 05 04 03 02 01

2001: 12 11 10 09 08  07 06 05 04 03 02 01 
2000: 12 11  10  09  08 


© 2002 Southern Scribe, All Rights Reserved