Southern Scribe
          a culture of storytelling


  News - June, 2004 

Call for Papers | Contests | Old News  


Book News

SEBA Book Awards Announced

The Southeast Booksellers Association has announced the 2004 SEBA Book Awards, which seek to recognize the year’s best books out of the South.

The winners are:

Fiction: Lunch at the Picadilly, Clyde Edgerton, Algonquin

Non-Fiction: GRITS: Girls Raised in the South, Deborah Ford, Dutton

Poetry: Locales, Poems from the Fellowship of Southern Writers, Ed. by Fred Chappel, Louisiana University Press

Children: How I Became a Pirate, Melinda Long, Harcourt

Cookbook: The Gift of Southern Cooking, Scott Peacock & Edna Lewis, Knopf

This year’s SEBA Book Awards Dinner will take place at The Park Hotel in Charlotte, NC. Tickets for the dinner are $40 and limited. The SEBA Book Awards are sponsored by Baker & Taylor. Baker & Taylor and the Southeast Booksellers Association will play host to numerous booksellers and other industry friends from around the southeast. The SEBA Book Award Dinner on June 26th, 2004, at The Park Hotel in Charlotte, NC will be an evening to remember and one that reminds us why we do what we do – love books! Tickets are $40 for the dinner that starts at 7:00 PM. For ticket information contact the Southeast Booksellers Association at 803-779-0118 or visit the website at

Oxford American....It's Back!

The second incarnation of Oxford American ended July 17, 2003. And like the Phoenix, the southern literary magazine is rising from the ashes. The University of Central Arkansas and Oxford American have formed a partnership.  Offices for  the now not-for-profit  publication will move to the campus in Conway, Arkansas. The university said it signed a three-year, $490,000 contract with Oxford American founder Marc Smirnoff on May 17th. The revived magazine will become a quarterly format with the next issue coming out in November. 


The 2004 Salem College Center for Women Writers National Literary Award Winners


The Salem College Center for Women Writers has announced the winners of the 2004 National Literary Awards.  Jennifer S. Davis of New Orleans, Louisiana won the Reynolds Price Short Fiction Award with her story, “Blue Moon.”  Ann Fisher-Wirth’s poem, “Rain” won the Rita Dove Poetry Award.  The Penelope Niven Creative Nonfiction Award was won by Catherine Rainwater for her essay, “My Father’s Clothes.”  All winners will receive $1000 plus an all expense paid trip to Salem College to read their work on November 11, 2004.  


Georgia Author of the Year Awards

The 40th Annual Georgia Author of the Year Awards were presented June 14th at Georgia Tech. The Georgia Writers Association award program honors books published in 2003.

The Lifetime Achievement Award was presented to Dr. Bettie M. Sellers - noteworthy author, poet and literary advocate. Bettie Sellers, a native of Griffin, Georgia, taught in the English Department of Young Harris College from 1965 to 1996. Sellers was named Georgia Author of the Year in 1979 by the Dixie Council of Authors and Journalists.  She was named Poet of the Year in 1992 by American Pen Women.  In 1997 she was named poet laureate of Georgia by Governor Miller. 

Nominee's for the 40th Annual Georgia Author of the Year Awards include: 

Essay Division
Amy Blackmarr - Above the Fall Line (award winner)
Zell Miller - A National Party No More
Carey Sipp - The Turn Around Mom
Michael Thurmond - Freedom 

Biography Division
Valerie Boyd - Wrapped in Rainbows (award winner)
Virginia Spencer Carr - The Lonely Hunter
Mike Cheatham - No Man Walks Alone
Richard Hyatt - Charles H. Jones, A Biography 

Memoir Division
Melissa Walker - Living on Wilderness Time (award winner)
Pola Arbiser - Give Me the Children
Eric L. Haney - Inside Delta Force
Irene A. Harner - Movin' On
Richard Taylor - Prodigals: A Vietnam Story
History Division
Evelyn Monahan & Rosemary Neidel-Greenlee - And if I Perish (award winner)
Andy Ambrose - Atlanta: An Illustrated History
Roy Blount, Jr. - Robert E. Lee
Tim Darnell - The Crackers: Early Days of Atlanta Baseball
Gregory Paul Domin - Jimmy Carter, Public Opinion and the Search for Values
Tammy Harden Galloway - Dear Old Roswell
Deric A. Gilliard - Living in the Shadows of a Legend
Melissa Fay Greene - Last Man Out
Calvin C. Johnson, Jr. - Exit to Freedom
Jedwin Smith - Fatal Treasure
Nat Turner, (Ed.) - A Southern Soldier's Letters Home 
Self-Help Division
Edna Lewis & Scott Peacock - Southern Cooking (award winner)
Greg Baer, M.D. - Real Love
Josh Batchelder - Handwriting Reveals You
Gail Evans - She Wins, You Win
Leidra Lawson - Sugar Daddy 101
Marsha Marks - 101 Simple Lessons for Life
Loran & Myrna Smith - Let the Big Dawg Eat
Robert Wayne - Venice in Context 

Inspirational Division
Barbara Allen - Still Christian After All These Years (award winner)
Jarrett Burch - Adiel Sherwood
Phyllis Carrera - A Journey of My Choosing
Augustine S. Chea  - Inspirational Daily Meditation
David Fillingim - Redneck Liberation
Bryan Hamill - Shocking Bible Prophecy
Marsha Maurer - A Fragrant Fullness
Cecil Murphey - The Relentless God

Stephen Corey - There Is No Finished World
Robert Giannetti - Drawn by the Creek
Collin Kelley - Better to Travel: Selected Poems
Tania Rochelle - Karaoke Funeral
Dianna S. Wilson - Reflections From the Heart
Cecilia Woloch - Late 

Terry Kay - Valley of Light (award winner)
Mary Kay Andrews - Little Bitty Lies
Pearl Cleage - Some Things I Never Thought I'd Do
Virginia Ellis - The Photograph
Eckhard Gerdes - Cistern Tawdry
Greg Keyes - The Briar King
Virginia Lanier - A Bloodhound to Die For
Rick Magers - Blue Water Adventure
Milam McGraw Propst - Ociee: on Her Own
Janisse Ray - Wild Card Quilt
Randy Singer - Irreparable Harm
Joseph Skibell - The English Disease
Karen Slaughter - A Faint Cold Fear
Haywood Smith - The Red Hat Club
Emily Blake Vail - Dark Night on Mimosa Trail 
Anthologies/Short Stories
Dr. Hugh Ruppersburg (Ed.) - After O'Connor (award winner)
Michael Bishop - Brighten to Incandescence
Herbert W. Denmark - Second Finger ... Left Hand
Herbert Denmark (Ed.) - The Night the Animals Screamed
Randy J. Hendricks - The Twelfth Year and Other Times
First Novel
Jack Riggs - When the Finch Rises (award winner)
Steve Berry - The Amber Room
Steven M. Best - When Philosophers Were Kings
Jimmy Carter - The Hornet's Nest
Irvon E. Clear - The Game: Part 1
M. Kay duPont - Loving Mr. Lincoln
Mitchell Graham - The Fifth Ring
Nancy M. Hyde - The Hollow
Hannah Khoury - So Pretty an African
H.F. Lazenby - A Death in Heaven
June McNaughton - Alligator Creek
Carolyn Robbins - Carribbean Green
Fran Stewart - Orange as Marmalade
Adam Sun - The Mountain Man
Margaret B. Anderson Uhler - The Floridians 

Children's and Young Adult Literature
David Bryant & George Davidson - Georgia's Amazing Coast (award winner)
Marshall Dell - The Enchanted Okefenokee
Carly Heyman - My eXtra Special Brother
Melanie D. Jones - Pigs Rock!
Diane Z. Shore - Bus-A-Saurus Bop
Steven Tiller - Rudolf the Red Nose


Call for Papers
Journal of Kentucky Studies (Deadline: none)
Conflict in Southern Writing (Deadline: June 1, 2004)
History in/and/of Southern Literature (Deadline: October 15, 2004)
Southeastern Theatre Conference New Play Project (accepted March 1 thru June 1, 2004)
Cape Fear Crime Short Story Contest (Deadline: June 1, 2004)
Southern Writers' Project (Deadline: none)
News from Past Issues
2004: 04 03 02 01
2003: 12 11 10 09 08 07 06 05 04 03 02 01
2002: 11 10 09  08 07 06 05 04 03 02 01

2001: 12 11 10 09 08  07 06 05 04 03 02 01 
2000: 12 11  10  09  08 


© 2004 Southern Scribe, All Rights Reserved