Southern Scribe
    our culture of storytelling

 

 Biography Review    

 

 

The Lonely Hunter:
A Biography of Carson McCullers
By Virginia Spencer Carr
With a Foreword by Tennessee Williams
University of Georgia Press, Reprint, 2003
Hardcover, $29.95 (600 pages)
ISBN: 0-8203-2522-8

 

 
 

Carson McCullers was alternately difficult, brilliant, selfish, gifted, tormented, vulnerable, exploitive or childlike, depending upon whom was speaking. At a young age, the novelist, knew she was destined for greatness and many of her novels, most notably, The Heart is Lonely Hunter and The Ballad of the Sad Cafe continue to fascinate readers and writers. 

The Lonely Hunter is essential reading for fans of Carson McCullers and Southern literature. First published in 1975, the University of Georgia Press has reissued the biography most widely accepted as the standard biography of Carson McCullers. 

Virginia Spencer Carr, who holds the John B. and Elena Diaz-Verson Amos Distinguished Chair in English Letters at Georgia State University, had access to the family and friends of McCullers after her death. As a fellow Southerner teaching in Columbus, Georgia, Carr was in the unique position of seeing the family "warts and all." Praised for her balanced and sensitive view of the writer, her works, and her family, Carr never blanches. 

The Lonely Hunter illuminates the reader's understanding of the author's works yet stands on its' own as an extraordinary biography of a complicated woman.

 

Pam Kingsbury
Southern Scribe Reviews

2003, Southern Scribe Reviews, All Rights Reserved